Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Talent Trust awards over $33,000 to the 2017 Special Award Recipients at today's Special Awards Ceremony

The Talent Trust (NSTT) recognized the 2017 Scholarship and Special Award recipients at 2:00 p.m. on Tuesday, December 12, 2017 at Halifax Central Library in a ceremony attended by His Honour The Honourable Arthur J. LeBlanc, ONS, QC Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia.

Created to support the career of contralto Portia White 73 years ago, the Talent Trust has continued to support talented Nova Scotian artists as they pursue their studies toward establishing professional careers in the arts.
Maya Read, Lieutenant Governor's Award 2017
One such gifted artist is Halifax' musical theatre performer Maya Read, who received the $1,500 Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Artistic Achievement, the NSTT’s highest honour for a student in any discipline. Read studies musical theatre at Sheridan College in Oakville, ON. 
Presented for the first time in 2013, the two 2011 Canada Games Young Artist of Excellence Awards, valued at $10,000 each, will be awarded to any recipient, regardless of age, from any artistic discipline, who best exemplifies the qualities embraced by the Talent Trust, that of the utmost commitment, promise, exceptional technique, talent and the highest achievement of excellence, someone who demonstrates the passion and drive to become a professional Nova Scotia artist in their field of discipline. These two awards will be awarded every December until 2022 and are the legacy of the 2011 Canada Games Young Artists of Excellence Program.

In 2017, the two $10,000 awards were received by Halifax film producer Gharrett Paon and type designer Lee Yuen-Rapati from Dartmouth. 
Gharrett Paon (Halifax) is currently studying film production at the Canadian Film Centre in Toronto, ON. 
Type designer Lee Yuen-Rapati(Dartmouth), is studying type design at the University of Reading in Reading, England.
The other Special Award recipients, each of whom demonstrates exceptional potential to become professional artists, are:
Jodie Fox
Scenographer Jodie Fox (Musquodoboit Harbour) is the recipient of the $1,500 RBC Emerging Artist Award for applied craft/design theatre. Fox studies scenography (stage design) at the Hochschule Hanover in Hanover, Germany. (Award supported by RBC Emerging Artist Program.)
New Award - Given for the fist time in 2017:
Cello player India Gailey (Wolfville) is the recipient of the $1000 Yue Lih and Marion Kuo Award for exceptional commitment and potential in music as an instrumentalist. Gailey is currently studying at McGill University in Montreal, QC. (Award supported by Marion Kuo and Earl Wadden.)
Visual artist Curtis Botham (Bedford) is the recipient of the $1,000 Charlotte Wilson-Hammond/Visual Arts Nova Scotia Award. Botham graduated with a BFA from NSCAD. He is currently attending the NSCAD University Residency Program in New Glasgow. (Award supported by Charlotte Wilson-Hammond and Visual Arts Nova Scotia.)
Benjamin Shaw
Opera singer Benjamin Shaw (Halifax) is the recipient of the $1,000 Portia White Awardfor voice. He studies at the University of Toronto, ON. (Award supported by the Music-in-Medicine and Humanities-HEALS Program, Dalhousie University.)
Maggie Oates-Johnson
Ballet dancer Maggie Oates-Johnson (Dartmouth) is the recipient of the$1,500 Robert George Jackson Award for dance. Maggie studied ballet at Canada's National Ballet School in Toronto this past summer. (Award supported by the Jackson family.)
Rebecca Wolfe
Rebecca Wolfe (Dartmouth) is the recipient of the $500 Theatre Nova Scotia Award for theatre. Wolfe is studying theatre performance at the Humber College in Toronto, ON. (Award supported by Theatre Nova Scotia.)
Pianist Chantal Peng (Wolfville) is the recipient of the $1,000 Tietje Zonneveld Award and is studying privately with John Hansen in Wolfville. (Award supported by Tietje Zonneveld.)
Choral conductor Thomas Burton (Wolfville) is the recipient of the $750 Kenneth Elloway Award for classical performance. He is studying choral conducting at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, USA. (Award supported by the Elloway family.)
Ballet dancer Carrigan MacDonald (Hammonds Plains) is the recipient of the $1000 Janice Merritt Flemming Award and is currently studying at L'Ecole Superieure de Ballet du Québec in Montreal, QC. (Award supported by the Flemming family.)
Euphonium player Ross Macintosh (Truro) is the recipient of the $1,000 Raymond Simpson Award for music and is studying at University of Toronto in Toronto, ON. (Award supported by the Simpson family.)
Film Producer Gharrett Paon (Halifax) is the recipient of the $1,000 Shelagh Mackenziehe  Award and is currently studying film production at the Canadian Film Centre in Toronto, ON.
In addition to the Special Awards announced today, the Nova Scotia Talent Trust gave out scholarships to 48 recipients earlier this year. You can find a list of the 2017 Nova Scotia Talent Trust scholarship recipients below.
List of the 2017 NSTT Scholarship and Nova Scotia Arts Endowment Fund Scholarship Recipients
  • Julia Barkhouse, Dartmouth
  • Kieron Harper, Halifax
  • Claire Campbell, Head of St. Margaret's Bay
  • Carrigan MacDonald, Hammonds Plains
  • Olivia MacLean, Dartmouth
  • Ellery Jackson, Dartmouth, NS Arts Endowment Fund Scholarship
  • Katherine McDonald, Halifax
  • Maggie Oates-Johnson, Dartmouth, NS Arts Endowment Fund Scholarship
  • Mollie Oates-Johnson, Dartmouth
  • Niamh Perrins, Wolfville
- Modern/Contemporary
  • Lucie Schmidt, Lakeview
  • Stan Tonin, Windsor Junction
- Keyboard - Piano
  • Vlad Chiriac, Bedford
  • Devin Huang, Bedford
  • Lala Lee, Halifax
  • Chantal Peng, Wolfville
  • Dakota Scott-Digout, Barrington
  • Andrew Son, Halifax
  • Alex (Zixuan) Yang, Bedford
- Strings - Cello
  • India Gailey, Wolfville
- Strings - Violin
  • Lilith Richter-Stephenson, Dartmouth
  • Heemin Choi, Bedford
- Strings - Guitar
  • Matthew Fraser, Inverness
- Conducting
  • Thomas Burton, Wolfville
- Voice - Opera
  • Nickolas Higgs, New Glasgow
  • Breanna Miller, Halifax
  • Morgan Reid, Sydney
  • Benjamin Shaw, Vancouver,  NS Arts Endowment Fund Scholarship
- Brass - French Horn
  • Mimisu Lee, Halifax
- Brass - Euphonium
  • Ross Macintosh, Truro
- Composition
  • Adam Clarke, Antwerpen
- Woodwind - Oboe
  • Julia Millett, Lunenburg

  • Gharrett Paon, Halifax
- Acting
  • Rebecca Wolfe, Dartmouth
Music Theatre
  • Ria Kapur, Bedford
  • Emily Robertson, Oakville
  • Maya Read, Dartmouth, NS Arts Endowment Fund Scholarship
- Directing
  • Luciana Silvestre Fernandes, Halifax
Visual/Fine Arts 
- Interdisciplinary
  • Gabriel Soligo, Halifax, NS Arts Endowment Fund Scholarship
- Design/Applied Craft
  • Jodie Fox, Mosquadoboit Harbour
  • Isaac Fresia, Halifax
  • Andrew Gilmour, Halifax
  • Lee Yuen-Rapati, Dartmouth
- Painting Drawing
  • Nat Chantel, Dartmouth
  • Curtis Botham, Bedford
  • Caterina Slamovits, Halifax
- Printmaking
  • Emma van Zeumeren, Dartmouth
Literary Arts
- Fiction
  • Conor Martin, Dartmouth

Sunday, December 3, 2017

Ballet dancers Claire Campbell and Carrigan MacDonald were chosen by National Ballet Balanchine repetiteur Joysanne Sidimus to perform a duet in Montreal

l-r: Claire Campbell, Joysanne Sidimus, Carrigan MacDonald
Carrigan MacDonald and Claire Campbell got to dance together for the first time! Both are studying at École Supérieure de Ballet du Québec (ESBQ).

They are pictured here with Balanchine repetiteur Joysanne Sidimus.