Thursday, December 5, 2019

Conversation with George Elliott Clarke on Portia White: A Portrait in Words

Past scholarship recipient George Elliott Clarke honours his great aunt, Portia White's life and legacy with his art. Join him in conversation about his new book: 

Portia White: A Portrait in Words

Tuesday, December 10
7:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21
1055 Marginal Road
Halifax, Nova Scotia

Free and open to the public. 

Mr. Clarke will read from this new book, illuminate his writing process and tell more of his family’s story. Books will be for sale prior to the event with reception and signing to follow. Presented with the support of Nimbus Publishing.

About George Elliott Clarke 

"The 4th Poet Laureate of Toronto (2012-15) and the 7th Parliamentary/Canadian Poet Laureate (2016-17), George Elliott Clarke is a revered artist in song, drama, fiction, screenplay, essays, and poetry. Born in Windsor, Nova Scotia, in 1960, Clarke was educated at the University of Waterloo, Dalhousie University, and Queen’s University. Clarke is also a pioneering scholar of African-Canadian literature. A professor of English at the University of Toronto, Clarke has taught at Duke, McGill, the University of British Columbia, and Harvard. He holds eight honorary doctorates, plus appointments to the Order of Nova Scotia and the Order of Canada at the rank of Officer. He is also a Fellow of the Royal Canadian Geographical Society. His recognitions include the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Fellows Prize, the Governor-General’s Award for Poetry, the National Magazine Gold Award for Poetry, the Premiul Poesis (Romania), the Dartmouth Book Award for Fiction, the Eric Hoffer Book Award for Poetry (US), and the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Achievement Award. Clarke’s work is the subject of Africadian Atlantic: Essays on George Elliott Clarke (2012), edited by Joseph Pivato. Finally, though Clarke is racialized “Black” and was socialized as an Africadian, he is a card-carrying member of the Eastland Woodland Métis Nation Nova Scotia, registered under Section 35 of the Charter of Rights and Freedoms. He is, at last, a proud Afro-Métis Africadian." Biographical information from Sage Hill Writing 

Want to hear more? Please sign up for our newsletter

Want to support the next generation of Nova Scotia artists? Donate today!

Tuesday, December 3, 2019

Talent Trust Artist Spotlight Radio with Ada Denil and Rebecca Wolfe

Tune in for the 8th edition of the Talent Trust Artist Spotlight.

Every first Thursday of the month with your host, past scholarship recipient and current board member Breagh MacKinnon.

December 5 at 1 p.m. 

Gain insights into the world of theatre and visual art with two young and promising artists.

About Ada Denil

Ada Denil is a 2019 scholarship recipient for visual arts and drawing. Ada works in a wide variety of mediums in her practice of sculpture and printmaking, which both inherently include drawing. In addition to being a recent guest artist and facilitator at the Lunenburg Documentary Film Festival, Ada has shown her work at the Corridor Gallery, Argyle Fine Art and the Company House, along with participating in several student showcases at NSCAD University.

About Rebecca Wolfe

Rebecca Wolfe is an actor, dancer and theatre director whose past performances include principal roles in CBC’s television series Mr. D, Taylor Olson’s Know What I’m Sayin’, Don’t Forget To Step, and Jonny Thompson’s Guys. She has performed with Dalhousie University, Symphony Nova Scotia, The Stratford Festival-Theatre Performance Intensive and the Toronto Dance Theatre. Rebecca graduated with a degree in Theatre Performance from Humber College and has recently been named associate producer at Villains Theatre. Wolfe received the Talent Trust's Lieutenant Governor Award in 2018 and the Talent Trust's 2017 Theatre NS Award.