Friday, October 11, 2019

Celebrate Talent Trust's 2019 Scholarship Recipients

While Celebrating 75 Years of Dedication,
the NS Talent Trust Continues to Invest in Aspiring Nova Scotian Artists  
Having recently finished its adjudication process, the NS Talent Trust has awarded scholarships to 58 emerging Nova Scotian artists in the fields of dance, music, theatre, film/new media, circus arts, literary arts, and visual arts from all over the province. 
Residing in New Glasgow, Lower Sackville, Windsor Junction, Wolfville, Sydney, Beaverbank, Hammonds Plains, Mineville, Prospect Bay, Port Williams, Kentville, Lakelands as well as Bedford, Dartmouth and Halifax. These aspiring artists further their development and training in Nova Scotia and other Canadian provinces, the United States, the UK, and even Italy.
Through their residencies, mentorships, and schooling, NSTT scholarship recipients inevitably promote Nova Scotia’s cultural relevance by studying in some of the best institutions worldwide. Like Portia White herself, the original catalyst for the organization’s formation, recipients sometimes become world renowned themselves like Barbara Hannigan, George Ellitott Clarke, and Lucy Pullen. Since Portia’s impetus in 1944, the Talent Trust has distributed more than two million dollars in scholarships to over 1,000 recipients. 
The independent, volunteer Scholarship Selection Committees, made up of twelve professional artists, two from each discipline, obviously recognize artistic skill, but they also look for signs of lasting commitment. The artist’s life has more than its fair share of challenges and for the NSTT, dedication to professional achievement is as important as artistic potential. Since the province is overflowing with talent, the decisions are never easy.
This year’s 58 successful scholarship recipients were chosen from a field of 142 applications over two submission periods, 1 March and 1 May, 2019. 

Five of the 58 scholarship recipients are supported by the NS Arts Endowment Fund in the amount of $2,000 each. They are Carrigan MacDonald in dance, Ryan MacDougall in musical theatre, Cassie Mann in composition, Sahara Nyathi in dance, and Sidney Robichaud in literary arts.

The Nova Scotia Talent Trust scholarships totalled $80,000 in 2019.  
Below is the complete 2019 list of Nova Scotia Talent Trust scholarship recipients.

The list can also be found on our website.   

List of the 2019 Talent Trust Scholarship and Nova Scotia Arts Endowment Fund Scholarship Recipients


  • Morganne Hartlen, Mineville
  • Julia Barkhouse, Dartmouth 
  • Chloe Bruce, Dartmouth
  • Brooklyn Law, Bedford
  • Mollie Oates-Johnson, Dartmouth
  • Maggie Oates-Johnson, Dartmouth
  • Aidan Vaudreuil, Lower Sackville
  • Carrigan MacDonald, Bedford, NS Arts Endowment Fund Scholarship
  • Sahara Nyathi, Halifax, NS Arts Endowment Fund Scholarship
  • Niamh Draper, Bedford
  • Stan Tonin, Windsor Junction
  • Gabrielle Kachan, Halifax
  • Lucie Schmidt, Lakeview/Dartmouth
  • Denver Scott, Halifax
Production and Post Production

  • Rose-Marie Daniels, Port Williams
Documentary Film
  • Meagan Brown, Hammonds Plains
Stop Motion and Digital Animation
  • Katelyn Hawley, Hammonds Plains
Directing and Producing
  • Kassidy Mattera, Bedford
Expanded Cinema
  • Yalitsa Riden, Hammonds Plains
LITERARY ARTSCreative Nonfiction
  • Sara Leslie, Halifax
  • Sidney Robichaud, Halifax, NS Arts Endowment Fund Scholarship
  • Devin Huang, Bedford
  • Lala Lee, Halifax
  • Andrew Son, Halifax
  • Cindy Thong, Halifax
  • Alex (Zixuan) Yang, Bedford
Strings - Cello
  • India Gailey, Wolfville
Strings - Violin
  • Rose Hanada, Halifax
  • Lilith Richter-Stephenson, Dartmouth
  • Indi Tisoy, Dartmouth
Strings - Viola
  • Ellis Yuen-Rapati, Dartmouth
Strings - Double Bass
  • Sean Sneddon, Halifax
Voice - Opera
  • Ruusu-Maaria Brousseau, Halifax
  • Anisa Sobhani, Dartmouth
  • Laura Johnston, Prospect Bay
  • Morgan Reid, Sydney
  • Nicholas Higgs, New Glasgow
  • Nick Veltmeyer, Halifax
  • Shanice Skinner, New Glasgow
  • Jessica MacIsaac, Halifax
  • Cassie Mann, Halifax, NS Arts Endowment Fund Scholarship
Brass - Tuba
  • Bryenton Innes, Lakelands
Brass - French Horn
  • Mimisu Lee, Halifax
Brass - Trumpet
  • Shaw Nicholson, Halifax
Woodwind - Flute
  • Amelia Bruce, Dartmouth
  • Brooke Mitchell, Beaverbank
  • Brent Raddall, Wolfville
  • Ryan MacDougall, Hammonds Plains, NS Arts Endowment Fund Scholarship
  • Madeleine West, Halifax
  • Gill Baldwin, Port Williams
  • Caterina Slamovits, Halifax
Design/Applied Craft
  • Andrew Gilmour, Halifax
  • Charles Bourne, Halifax
  • Caitlin McGuire, Halifax
  • Robin Lauzon, Kentville
  • Sienna Maeba, Halifax
  • Jessie McLaughlin, Bedford
  • Ada Denil, Halifax
The NSTT is supported by Margaret and David Fountain, the 2011 Canada Games Legacy Fund, RBC Foundation, The Craig Foundation, the Creative Nova Scotia Leadership Council, Dalhousie Music in Medicine HEALS Program, Support4Culture, NSTT Foundation, Cecilia Concerts, Visual Arts Nova Scotia, Theatre Nova Scotia, Debut Atlantic, Craft Nova Scotia,  immediaC, Black Cultural Centre for Nova Scotia, CIOE 97.5 Community Radio, Symphony Nova Scotia, Neptune Theatre, FIN Atlantic International Film Festival, Canadian Federation of Musicians, BoyneClarke Lawyers, RadioOui98.5, Mocean Dance, Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, Cape Breton University Art Gallery, MSVU Art Gallery, Halifax Central Library, Halifax Regional Municipality, and Arts Nova Scotia. The NSTT is pleased to work in partnership with the province to develop and promote our cultural resources for all Nova Scotians. 

No comments:

Post a Comment